Blogging In Isolation On WordPress Or In Community On Searchwarp


Blogging.  I hate the word, it’s so ungraceful, doesn’t fill me with inspiration and desire to write.  It’s kind of a macho-sounding word.   Every time I say it I kind of flinch.  Eugh.  When I first heard about it a couple of years ago the internet was an alien creature to me.  I can remember not knowing what the word cyberspace meant.  I had to go to internet cafes to connect, and the ones in the area I lived in were also ungraceful.  Dark, gloomy, seedy.

So I was kind of curious about this thing called blogging, although not curious enough to want to breach the fortress walls of my ignorance.  But you can’t live in such isolation from the rest of the world.  Correction, I can’t.  Couldn’t.   And there was something about getting up on a stage of sorts and having my say that was pretty appealing.  So I started on Blogspot and broke all the rules but what did I care.  Nobody was reading me anyway.  Then I moved to WordPress and after a while, people did start reading.

Which was pretty exciting and terrifying.  It’s one thing dreaming about being on the stage – because all you imagine is the applause of course.  The reality of putting yourself on stage brings up all sorts of other imaginings, mostly about rejection and not being good enough.  But I got past that and this year my stats suddenly took a leap up.  It was pretty exciting.

But the thing is, very few people leave comments, so I don’t have relationships with my readers, barring a few.  Blogging’s supposed to be about getting better connected.  But it isn’t, really.  It’s just about numbers and anonymous readers who maybe like you, maybe don’t.  It’s easy to get hooked on the numbers and lose track of the fact that you’re not actually getting anything real out of it.  So I’m at a crossroads.  I want to be on a stage of sorts, which is about numbers to a large degree.  But I also want the relationships.  I want to know my writing is reaching and touching people.  Or I want to know that they hate it.  I need a reaction.  Otherwise what’s the point?

I’m not getting that on WordPress.  But I am getting it on Searchwarp.  On WordPress, in just under two years I’ve written about 485 posts and have had 12,250 page views.  I don’t know how to find the stats on how many comments I’ve had, but it’s less than 10% I think.  On Searchwarp, in a year I’ve written 162 articles, and have had 125,899 page views and 1,250 comments.  Plus I know a lot of the writers there, so I’m not alone in my writing.

Competition on WordPress is so fierce now that rising up above the ocean of writers is hard.  The pressure to conform and compete within very rigid parameters is immense.  But I can’t see the point of it.  I write to be an individual, not to lose my individuality.  Competition on Searchwarp is also quite fierce, but there’s a different culture there.  It is about community, the whole site is built with that in mind.

I’ve never had any real recognition or reward from WordPress for being such a faithful and consistent blogger.  I get praise, thanks, recognition and reward from Searchwarp.  I started on there to direct traffic to my blog.  Maybe it’s time to reverse that.   If you want to visit my homepage there, click this link: http://jennifer.searchwarp.com or go to searchwarp.com to see other writers and have a look at the site.

4 thoughts on “Blogging In Isolation On WordPress Or In Community On Searchwarp

  1. Jen, I am going through the same thing. I signed on to write for The Examiner.com to try and get some money coming in. I was referred to it by Heidi, (The Old Gray Mare). I have only written one article – no response from the staff or readers…don’t know what is going on…it just feels cold. This morning, I wrote another article for the Examiner, but just couldn’t submit it – I wanted SW to have it!

    Do you have Ad Sense anywhere?

    Same thing with word press…I know I didn’t stick with it long enough, but it is hard to write when there is zero response.

    • I’ve never heard of the Examiner as being a place where you can earn, Fran. I’ll check it out. Horrid that they don’t respond.

      I got an Adsense account when I tried affiliate marketing for a bit, but I never earned anything on it. And the problem with Adsense is that you really need consistently high readership to earn with it.

      As for WordPress, they don’t even allow Adsense. I think I’ve stayed because my original motive for writing there was to express all the emotional turmoil I was feeling a couple of years ago. My blog was really for me, and because I wrote so much, I’ve developed a kind of loyalty to it – much the same as when you have a car you’ve driven forever and you get a new one. It’s a bit hard to let the old one go!

Leave a Reply

