Yes I Can – Avoiding the Gloom and Doom Virus when looking for a Publisher


Being a first-book writer looking to nose your way into the publishing market is the weirdest thing, it elicits the most incredibly negative outlook from people.  Either that or no two opinions are the same, although everybody is an authority.  Of course.  Generally, negative comments rule.

You can’t do it without an agent.

It’s really difficult to find an agent.

It’s impossible to find a decent agent until you’ve had some success.

It’s an impossible market to get into (being published).

You don’t need an agent for a self-help book.

You need an agent for a self-help book.

It’s easier in the US.

It’s much harder in the US.

You’ll never be able to get your first book published.

Funny thing is, though, every single published author once had to get their first book published. And they succeeded.  That’s probably millions of first book writers.  Millions.  Which means it can’t be impossible.  How people can hold onto these negative ideas when they’re so completely irrational beats me.  I think it’s just that people love to be dirgy, it’s like a societal addiction to misery.

Since nobody in the world can tell how and when I’m going to find my publisher, the responses are just choices based on pure speculation.  Why choose the worst?  Why not say variations on I’m sure you’ll have no difficulty at all?  Why not say the nicest and most supportive thing they can think of?  Because they don’t want to give a person false hope?  So they give them false misery instead.  Well that makes a lot of sense.

One thing I do understand, is that publishers are besieged with manuscripts now because so many people write these days.   So generally they tell you that you won’t get a response before 3 to 6 months.  But it still doesn’t mean it’s impossible, because somebody might just flip through the pile of manuscripts waiting to be read and like the look of mine.  They could read it overnight and call me the next day.

Anything can happen, and it often does for people.  In fact maybe it’s more likely to happen for the people who refuse to be infected by the gloom and doom virus.  It’s depressing to believe you haven’t got a chance, it makes the journey so much more difficult.  I had a great fantasy the other day about Oprah calling me up and saying I loved your book!  The fantasy made me feel upbeat, had me laughing and whooping it up.   It was pretty motivating.

I’ll take ideas that carry prospect and the pleasure they give me over morbid, gloomy doomy ones any day.  Imagine believing the worst and getting really depressed about it and then something fantastic happens.  I’d have wasted all that time being unnecessarily unhappy.  Perish the thought.  I wonder how many people told the Pointer Sisters that they couldn’t, they wouldn’t?

Those three little words yes I can are like nourishment to the seeds of powerful dreams.

2 thoughts on “Yes I Can – Avoiding the Gloom and Doom Virus when looking for a Publisher

  1. The way some people think that it’s better to be miserable in case the worst happens, rather than being happy until you know the result.. like it’s somehow kinder to spare someone the joy of hope because maybe that hope will be dashed
    The dumbest thing about that attitude is that typically they will expect the worst to happen, and most of the time even if it isn’t the best result, it’s usually nowhere near as bad as the worst result.. all that misery for what?
    Anyway, I’m sure you’ll get published!

    love

    Martin

    • Hi Martin, thanks for leaving a nice comment! 🙂 I know people who live like that – not wanting to let themselves hope. I can understand it if they’ve had really difficult experiences and not much of anything good happening, but when they do it mindlessly it’s harder for me to feel compassion.

Leave a Reply

