Inspiration from Piers Morgan Interviewing Beyonce and Josh Grobin


I’ve been watching Piers Morgan for quite a while now, whenever it’s flighted.  He’s such a different person to who I thought he was from America’s Got Talent.  I hated him on that show, he was so damn arrogant and brutal.  Sometimes I longed to see him make himself vulnerable and have people tear him to pieces in front of millions of viewers around the world.

And then he got this job and a completely different side of him came out, or maybe it was always there, he just didn’t show it.  Or maybe it’s an act.  Somehow I don’t think so, though.  He does let himself be vulnerable on his show, and he also encourages his guests to do the same, regardless of their gender.  When he doesn’t respect somebody, though, it’s usually for pretty good reasons, and he asks the kind of questions that will expose them.

In a way he’s drawing a little from Oprah’s style.  It’s people’s humanity he seems to be looking for.  The other night Beyonce was his guest.  I never had a clue what a beautiful person she is.  She’s not at all arrogant or egotistical, but she’s not self-effacing, she’s just so natural.  And she’s thoughtful, she cares about what she does with her life in a quality way.  She has a kind of quiet confidence.  She’s also so articulate she was a pleasure to watch and listen to.

It was the same with Josh Grobin.  I’ve always thought he was a bit too clean and nice, but I saw a man with a great sense of humor about himself and, like Beyonce, an absence of distorted ego.  He was just a regular guy.  There’s nothing flashy about him, but he’s not dull, he kind of shines on the inside, it’s beautiful.  He said his favorite thing is when he meets a woman who doesn’t know who he is, so he gets a chance to be viewed as somebody normal.  How about that.

I wonder what it’s like to be on that side of the fence.  Well, I don’t have a voice that’s anything like either Josh Grobin’s or Beyonce’s, and I’m not starting young.  In fact, every time I’ve started I’ve stopped not long after.  Not this time, though.  I’ve got something to prepare for, and three months to do it.  Vocal exercises, learn to sight read for voice, listen to lots of jazz, download backing tracks and practice three audition songs.

And, even though it might seem from a certain perspective that I haven’t got a chance of going anywhere with this, I’m not even going to entertain that idea.  What’s the point?  I can’t look into the future and predicting the worst for myself will make me shut down again.  I don’t know where my voice will take me, but at least I can make sure I begin the journey.  I’ve been on the journey of my writing for a while, and I’ve at least got a book written now.  I’ve started looking for publishers.

I want to do both these things, so I’m at least going to try.  And just as I hope with my writing to get Oprah’s blessing one day, maybe one day Piers will be interviewing me and saying “nobody would have believed you could get this far”.

Leave a Reply

