You Don’t Have To Be A Genius


If you don’t want to read, and just want to watch the video, click this link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=twwaVsYbtkI

You know how sometimes you have a moment when something you think you’ve known actually sinks in to a more meaningful place?  Things like ”it doesn’t matter what other people think of you” and “you have the same value as everybody else”.  It’s easy to “know” those things intellectually, you just have to read the words or hear somebody say them and your thinking brain takes it in.

Long ago I had my head around the concept that everybody’s equal and other people’s opinion doesn’t matter.  Funny thing was, the knowing didn’t make any difference to the reality of my life.  I was still afraid of people in real time, still afraid of the world, still massively disempowered, making choices that ended up with me being exploited or hurt.

Well I believe that my thinking brain isn’t nearly as powerful as I used to think it was.  It’s become the God of this century, the New Age God.  I think the power that actually let me change has come from the experience of being loved and respected.  It’s resulted in a different kind of “knowing” that permeates through my mind, body and spirit.

I’ve started to see that my knowledge isn’t just theoretical any more because I don’t have to hide from the world and people any more, I’m happy to just be normal, I don’t imagine nearly as much that people are thinking badly of me.  I don’t have try and read their minds, I can just ask.  I don’t engage with bullies because I recognize them and I know I don’t like them.

More and more I realize I don’t have to fight for my place in the world.  It’s still not perfect, and I doubt it ever will be – what’s perfect anyway? – but my everyday life, from moment to moment is really different from what it was.  No lies, no pretense, no denial.

Those Aha! moments always seems as if they come from out of the blue, but I think they’ve been building for a long time, and they just reach a certain threshold which pushes into the conscious mind in one particular moment.   In a way it’s like the unseen particles of our world.  We don’t notice them until they’ve coagulated into something solid which our senses can pick up.

Well it’s taken me more than ten years of receiving very sane teaching and incredibly consistent,  all-embracing unconditional love and support for the knowledge I’ve understood theoretically since I was 16 to become something I could actually apply.  In a way I’ve gone through the parenting process again, and given myself a chance to grow up in a balanced way.

I had an Aha! moment yesterday when a whole lot of things came together.  It was the understanding in a real way that I don’t have to be a genius, or superwoman, or incredibly talented to be able to enjoy success.  I can just be me.  It’s enough.   I made a video of my Aha! moment.  Always wanted to be in the movies.  Might as well start somewhere.  This is the link:   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=twwaVsYbtkI

If you like it please pass it on to your facebook friends – or any friends, actually.

One thought on “You Don’t Have To Be A Genius

  1. Oh my goodness Jennifer! This is absolutely, absolutely brilliant! In fact I could say this video is one of the best motivational videos I have ever watched and enjoyed – and believe me I have watched a few! Thank you for sharing your aha moment – it deserves to go viral but more importantly is where you are at and that is in a good place. Bloody good for you. I really can’t praise this enough. Definitely best post, ever!! Well done you 🙂

Leave a Reply

