Royal Wedding: Kate Middleton Brings Balance to the Royal Family


I’d love to be in London right now, feeling the buzz, getting caught up in the romance of the century.  And it’s refreshing to have CNN and BBC so focused on the royal wedding.  I can’t get enough of all the stories and the coverage.  It’s such fairytale stuff that it hardly feels real to me.

Somebody interviewed a Royal photographer, who said how incredibly challenging it was to capture the Royals at one session because he was give 7 minutes – timed with a stop-watch – and he wasn’t allowed to address his subjects. Well, not his subjects in the Royal sense of the word of course.  I find it incredibly obscure that a rule like that could still exist, but it brings to life the exotic nature of being a British Royal, keeps history alive.

What would they have done to the photographer if he’d spoken?  Sacked him?  Put him in the tower, off with his head!  Is there a place for humor in a situation like that?   Probably not.  I wonder what it’s like being one of them, and having all these rules that set you apart from other mortals.  Rules that don’t really mean anything independent of pomp and ceremony but which define the lives of these ultimate celebrities.

One man who called himself an anarchist spoke on CNN last night and said he thought it was unutterably irresponsible for such an enormous event to take place now, when Britain is suffering so much.  From what he said it seems the wedding is paid for by the taxpayers.  That does seem wrong to me, given how incredibly wealthy the Queen is.  It smacks a little of pre French Revolution days.

Still, I think most people wouldn’t have it any other way.  Life can be so mundane, it’s wonderful to have this live theatre with a script going back hundreds of years that’s still being played out.  I love the traditions, the grandness, even the grandioseness of a Queen who you’re not allowed to address unless she speaks first.  I wonder what she’s like as a person?  Somebody who had some royal role and had met most of the family said in an interview last night that they hadn’t met one who they hadn’t really liked.

Yesterday I saw Piers Morgan interview Elizabeth Emanuel, the woman who designed Princess Diana’s dress.  She said she was pretty much an unknown, and Diana had picked her because she liked her.  But we all know how human Diana was, and what she brought to the Royal family.  I’m not so sure they welcomed it.  It must have made life murder for Diana.  I look at photos of her and Charles and think “what a twit he was, not to be able to appreciate her”.

Well, it seems that her amazing qualities live on in both her sons, and that can only be a good thing for the family and for England’s PR.   I wonder what they all think about Kate?  She looks strong to me, not nearly as fragile as Diana, and seems to be handling all the publicity pretty  well.  As if she was born to be a Royal.  Something in me enjoys the fact that she’s “middle class”.    It adds a bit of balance to it all.  I wonder if this was a dream for her when she was a little girl – to marry a prince…

2 thoughts on “Royal Wedding: Kate Middleton Brings Balance to the Royal Family

    • It does, doesn’t it? I’ve started watching the news every day and I realized how I’m getting used to all the violence and it’s becoming a part of my view of the “normal” world. It’s not good. As for the wedding, I just read somewhere that the cost will be about 12 million pounds, but it’ll be covered by private funds. The public will pay for all the extra police etc. So, my apologies to her highness!!

Leave a Reply

