Getting Blog Traffic and Still Doing It My Way


A lot of people dream about being a writer.  While you’re dreaming about it, it’s easy.  When you do it, it’s a bit of a shock!  You enter this arena of massive competition where everybody’s got an opinion on the right way to achieve success.   Many insist you must figure out what people want, and then give it to them.  Search adwords.google.com, and see how many people are looking for specific things.  Look up, for example, “Oprah” and you’ll see 2,400,000 people search Google.com with that word every month.

So then, write something about Oprah. You want the readers, you give them what’s already interesting them.  It’s a bit lame, though, isn’t it?  The  people who actually stand out, and achieve notoriety, or fame or fortune – aren’t they the ones who said fuckit, I have to do it my way?  Elvis Presley, The Beatles, J.K. Rowling, to name a few.

Some people like the idea of being totally adaptable, and not original.  There’s nothing wrong with it per se.  It bugs the hell out of me, though.  What have we got individual voices for if we don’t use them?   I can’t imagine getting to the end of my life and never having actually said what I really wanted to say.

However, maybe it’s not an either or thing.  Maybe it’s possible to do what really satisfies your heart, and be smart about marketing it.  Why not?   So with that in mind I went to adwords.google.com and typed in “stepping out of history” and guess what?  Nobody’s looking for that term.  It doesn’t mean they don’t want to read what I write.  It could mean they’re using different words to look for it.   So I looked up “my way” and guess what again?  1,500,000 searches a month.  “Stepping out of history” or “my way” – it’s the same thing:  “how can I have my own life?”

So it’s not that people wouldn’t like the content of what I write, it’s just that nobody associates the phrase “stepping out of history” with it.  Now that I understand this, it explains something.  People say if you can claim the first page of a Google search results, you’ll get all the traffic.  I’ve more or less claimed the “stepping out of history” first page for about 6 months, sometimes I’ve had the whole page.  Go to Google.com, and type in stepping out of history.  You’ll see what I mean.

But it hasn’t affected my traffic.  Now I know why.  A lot of writers use that title – 84,000,000 actually! but the people who are looking for something to read don’t even know about those words and what they mean.  However,1,500,000 a month know about the words “my way”.

Think about this: for that first page on Google search results I’m competing against 84,000,000 writers.   And I’m at the top, so I know how to compete against 84 million writers and win.  It’s got nothing to do with the quality or content of what I write!  It’s about the way I market my blog.

So imagine if I’m smarter about my title, and get my blog registering on the first Google search results page for “my way” – I could get anything from 35,000 to 100,000 people reading my blog every month.   You don’t get all the traffic, you get a percentage, but I’m fine with thirty five to one hundred thousand hits a month!

6 thoughts on “Getting Blog Traffic and Still Doing It My Way

  1. Great story, Jenn! Frank Sinatra Has a song called, “I Did it My Way” and it was very popular. Incidentally, the first time I heard of this song was at a funeral. Not sure what that means!

  2. You’re right, but getting to that front page against 83,000,000 competing blogs is the trick. You need to determine how many backlinks it required for them to get on that front page, otherwise you’re whistling in the wind. If it requires more than you either have time to obtain, or can afford to have established for you, you might want to try keywords that don’t require as much elbow grease. Best wishes.

    • But actually, David, the thing is that I pretty much claim the first page of stepping out of history, that has 84,000,000 competing pages and I haven’t built a single back-link. All I’ve done is write a blog every day or so, and write articles with a link to my blog, which I post on SearchWarp. Sometimes I write others and post them at other directories. Haven’t done anything else, I swear!

  3. I know I did the same thing for easy quick ways to make money online, but it only gets 1000 monthly searches, so it’s good for about 2 to 4 visitors a day, not near enough for sales. Same way with “stepping out of history”, google adwords tool shows 0 monthly searches for that term. You need to get a higher searched long tail keyword. “I’ll do it my way” gets 2900 monthly searches, but to rank for it will take considerably more backlinks. Nobody searching, means nobody buying. I’m not trying to discourage you, I just want you to get what you need, “money”. Good luck dear.

Leave a Reply

