A Father’s Unconditional Love: Men Who Are the Good Guys


For once in my life I don’t have a whole lot of words.  Have they all dried up finally?  But it’s too soon, I’m not world famous yet!  Sigh.  I don’t know what’s happened, but today I don’t care about making dreams come true or achievement or any of that.

Something’s missing.  Maybe I’m just feeling vulnerable.

I’ve been thinking about the day last summer when I saw such a beautiful man on the beach.  He had a child about six years old who was flipping out in rage at something, gesticulating like crazy, stamping, jumping up and down, yelling, insisting, just as angry as can be.  Mad as a snake about something.  The man, who I suppose was his father, was leaning down towards him, listening with such intent and infinite patience, trying to understand through the child’s emotional storm.  No judgment, no advice, no criticism.  He just let the kid be, and paid attention.

It was the most beautiful thing, it touched my soul and made me feel so good about life and people.  It made my day.

Got me to thinking about the men who stick around, who are good friends, good husbands, good fathers, even when it’s very challenging for them.  Men we seldom hear anything about because they’re the good guys.  Like my father.  Like my friends. Like my therapist.  Like the man on the beach, bending down to listen to his beautiful stormy angry child with absolute attention and concentration, and utterly unconditional love.

Making the world a better place.  For his child.  For me.  For all of us.

In general, this blog is about the pursuit of dreams.  Mine are to establish myself as a vocalist, film script & blog writer & novelist, & to earn by doing something meaningful.  I need help with some things.  Click here to read more about my dreams and what I need.

5 thoughts on “A Father’s Unconditional Love: Men Who Are the Good Guys

  1. I can just imagineGod the Father listening to us His children…we sometimes scream at Him, or ignore Him, or even refuse to acknowledge Him, but His unconditional love is what makes the ‘good guys’…GOOD!

Leave a Reply

