Life passes too quickly, but it’s okay, there’s probably a next time round


To listen to the audio of this blog, click the link:  blog sept 20 2010

Life passes too quickly.   Getting to grips with that can be quite a challenge: yearning to be able to accomplish – or even just try – everything that burns within, having to accept the reality that you just can’t do it all, some of it is going to have to remain a vision in your mind.  What happens to that vision, I wonder?  Does it dissipate when you die?

Somehow I can’t believe it does.  In the same way that I can’t believe people are gone when they die, or that the life that surges through us with such power ends with this one experience.

Despite that consoling thought, though, don’t we all wrestle with the tension between what we long to do and what we still need to learn so that we can do it?   It may be that we need to learn to create resources, or how to operate in a certain milieu; we may need to overcome great fear of things that are trivial to other people – fear that doesn’t dissipate with a mantra or a logical “be positive” mind-mantra.   Whatever the specifics, we all face a learning curve, whether it’s about how the world works or how to do ourselves in a way that brings our visions closer to reality.

As time goes flashing by, I become more clear about my own yearnings.  I want a safe place within myself where I’m not blown about by other people’s needs, feelings and opinions, but can hold myself intact in the face of them so I don’t need to hide; so I let them be who they are without judgment, and can interact, giving and taking.  Living in isolation is the very worst thing, I think.

Then I want a safe place in the world.  I want physical things that represent security to me, that I don’t have to constantly be afraid “is this going to be taken away from me tomorrow?”.   And I want to work with self-expression in such a way that it facilitates connection with other people.

I guess it’s Maslow’s hierarchy of needs all in one.   Put that way, in a nice neat package it seems easy, achievable.  But life isn’t a neat package, is it?  It’s sometimes messy, laborious and mostly challenging in some way or another.  We have to deal with the consequences of our ignorance and the passage of time and to make our way through the morass of daily and time consuming tasks and conflicting needs that make up our physical world.

Still, some people are better at it than I am!  I watched Barack Obama talk on the David Letterman show once.  He spoke about the basic rights of Americans, and I thought my god, I hardly have any of those in place.  It was a nice wake-up call, seeing that so much of what I really struggle to achieve is so familiar to so many people that they completely take it for granted.  It’s normal for them.  It was like being thirsty and drinking some cool delicious drink, because hey, if other people can do it so can I.

Somehow I suspect that the vision any of us have for the kind of life we long to experience – the whole caboodle – will come to fruition in some way, and then when the time is right, give way to something that’s more meaningful.  We’ll get so far this lifetime, and carry the vision, the longing, with us when we die.   I like to believe we constantly refine it from lifetime to lifetime, and even though we worry about getting it all right this time round, we don’t actually have to.

Because there’s probably going to be a next time round.

In general, this blog is about the pursuit of dreams.  Mine are to establish myself as a vocalist, script & blog writer & novelist, & to earn by doing something meaningful.  I need help with some things.  Click here to read more about my dreams and what I need.   To listen to my singing, click here for yesterday’s blog or click here for my first audio

9 thoughts on “Life passes too quickly, but it’s okay, there’s probably a next time round

  1. The only problem that I have with this line of thought, ok two problems, is that if you have more than one shot you might not endeavor to do all, or be all that you can in this lifetime, and what a waste and shame if it is the only shot you’ve got. Second, people tend to believe, and follow those that promise this reward of eternal life, and endeavor to restrict others from their own will to live their lives independent of this perceived method or myth, if just they surrender to the will of their teachings, regardless of it’s effects on society, solely for the purpose of enhancing their own power on earth. Therefore it perpetuates greed, and denies people the right to self determination. If you live your life with goodness of heart, then if there is another shot, then you will get it. If not then you will not have sullied somebody else’s chance to be all that they want to strive to be in their lifetime. Either way I think it is a mistake to live your life under the assumption that this is absolute, simply to console feelings of helplessness in a sometimes troubling and scary world. Learn to deal with and accept those things that you can not change and change the things that you can, and the world will be better for yourself, and everybody else.

    • David, thanks for your comment. I totally agree with what you say about how this idea can be – and is – used (I should know, I was a Catholic child!) to manipulate vulnerable people for power and money, but I wasn’t advocating that kind of use of the idea in my blog. I don’t use it to manipulate or judge anybody, or to give myself a reason to not live my life to the full or avoid challenges. And I didn’t say “if you’re good you get another shot” – you added that bit!! When people use the idea as a rationale to not endeavor does the problem lie with the idea or how the person interprets it? Because those kind of people will use any idea and twist it to justify not participating to the full in life.

      Maybe we disagree about the value of consolation. If I use it as a rationale to give up, eugh, that’s pretty victimy. But if I use it to settle myself down so I can continue to participate in my life to the full, then it’s useful for me. I don’t think either of us is right or wrong, we’re just different in this. I mean “Learn to deal… etc.” is just an idea, isn’t it? You don’t use it to avoid life or challenges, because that’s not who you are (any more than it’s who I am) but some people do, they twist it horribly. Does that make the idea wrong? And as an idea, doesn’t it console you at some level?

  2. Interesting article Jennifer. Of course I am one of those that believes in eternal life. When I lived my life according to my will and my way I made a big mess of it, hit rock bottom. I had to learn to turn all my thoughts and all my actions over to God and ask Him to lead me and take care of me. I then got a mentor, successful in their own lives, who taught me how to live life in healthy manner, selfless and unashamed. By following directions and coming to know the love of God I have a wonderful life today. I know that you will too Jennifer and I know that it is possible in this life.
    God Bless

    • Thanks for your comment, Linda. I think you and I don’t share the same belief about who or what God is, but I can relate to everything you say, and I think it’s wonderful you found what you needed. Thanks for your belief in me.

  3. I think the most important part of recovery is that we can go forward using the same principals and doing the footwork just so long as we have a belief in God, our beliefs don’t have to be the same.

  4. That’s right Jenn. I wasn’t suggesting my ideas for anybody else, because I think everybody needs to do what they need to do to help them get through the day, or their life as the case may be in this instance. I was just explaining why I disagree with this particular path for myself. One shoe never has and never will fit everybody’s foot. I do though disagree with the writing of laws that deny people the right of self determination.

    • I understand, David, and I hate it when people use the idea of “afterlife” to walk away from challenges, or to manipulate for power and money. I was a Catholic child! Amen to your objection to laws that deny people the right of self determination.

Leave a Reply

