Oprah, Truth and Speaking Up for Myself


It’s raining today, a good day to write and work inside.

I looked at Oprah’s invitation to join her new network which goes public next year.  It’s called OWN.  Oprah Winfrey Network.  She has a picture of herself that has been so doctored it doesn’t even look like her.   You’re told you get a personal message from Oprah.  No you don’t.  It’s not possible.   So the first two things that I saw were both not the truth.  A doctored photo of a skinny Oprah, and a “personal video” that wasn’t personal.  It was a shock.

I signed up and followed the link to where she’s looking for people to be on the show.  One of them was “achieve a dream” [my words].  I opened the link, and read “…Oprah Winfrey Network is seeking parents and professionals who have a goal they’ve always wanted to accomplish but never achieved. Women and men who appear to be in their late 20’s or older are encouraged to respond…” [quote OWN].  I don’t understand the word “appear”.  It doesn’t make sense to me, and it pressed quite a few buttons.

And what about the rest of us?  I asked myself, has Oprah abandoned older women?  Women who aren’t mothers, who haven’t been able to create a profession yet?  Women who appear to have slipped through the cracks, but whose life is still massively important to them – who have dreams as big and vibrant as any other kind of women?  Are we not as important?   I don’t know.  All I can know is that Oprah hasn’t chosen us specifically, which I interpreted as that she’s specifically excluded us, for now anyway.

I wondered why.  Well, it’s her network, it’s her baby, it’s her choice.  She’s worked hard to be where she is.

But as for me, I feel sad, abandoned.   I had hoped that she would single out some women in whom I could  see myself reflected.

Clearly I can’t wait for Oprah to give me a voice, or to show me that my life has meaning.  Clearly I need to find it for myself and speak up for myself.

Leave a Reply

