When blog traffic isn’t happening, go to the beach


This is what I don’t understand about Google rankings.  Despite making it right to the top of Stepping out of history – and getting another blog about shame on the first page – it didn’t drive one iota of traffic to my blog.

So, let me take my own advice.  First, don’t have sex.  Oh no, that’s not it.  DON’T PANIC, DON’T THINK THERE’S SOMETHING WRONG WITH YOUR BLOG, GO TO THE BEACH.

Right.  Good idea.

Could the problem be that the phrase stepping out of history doesn’t mean that much to people?  They don’t associate it with things like depression – get that Google, that’s a word you like – and relationships and motivation and inspiration and crisis and getting over crisis and doing your life differently from now on.  Oprah knows about the phrase, I’ve heard her use it.  Hey, Oprah, be a darling and use it more often.  Give a girl a boost here.

I emailed Oprah – on the form it says she reads every email, but I can’t believe that, she must get hundreds of thousands.  I’m sure her staff sift through using keywords and just pass on ones they think will be relevant.  But would Oprah lie on her site?  Would she say she reads them all if she doesn’t?  Maybe I should just email her every day.  Might as well, can’t hurt.

But I digress.

Maybe just not enough people know about my blog.  Maybe that’s it.  There’s a lot of competition out there now, lot of people who can afford expensive SEO equipment or services.  Me I have to do it manually, but at least I’ll be writing on something I feel passionate about, won’t have any trouble putting real content into my articles.  But then isn’t that what Google etc. want? Yes, time to do the marketing, time to start writing articles  – at least I know how to do that.

But in the mean time I’m going to the beach.  Well, to the next small town on the way to the southernmost point of the peninsula I live on.  The bottom end of Africa almost.  There’s a navy thing going on and one can go on board warships.  Why would I want to do that?  I hate war and guns.

I don’t know, it’s the size, the power.  Who says size doesn’t count?  Of course it does.

Don’t worry, Jack, I’m sure you’re fine.

2 thoughts on “When blog traffic isn’t happening, go to the beach

Leave a Reply

